January 12, 2008

January 12, 2009

As we get ready accruing electronic gadgets (like little connectors, adaptors, wires), socks, backpacks, stuffsacks, I wonder what I would be doing around this time next year in Uganda.  Would I know how to cook some Ugandan foods, speak in the local language, know how to do laundry (without getting infected with putsi maggots), and enjoy the long bike rides to work? Would I miss our families during holiday times, or would we be in another wavelength in Uganda that we forget when Thanksgiving is?

In anticipation of our departure, I signed up for this blog, so I can document my experience in the Peace Corps service.  We still have many things to do before we board that plane to our home for the next 27 months: like the  20-page paper, which is crucial in getting my Montessori teaching certificate, I need to turn in soon and the tickets we need to reserve.  As I glance at Fractal, my husband, who is devoted in making us electronically savvy in Uganda and who is working on soldering some wires together, I wonder what the adjustments we would make to live together in a new different culture.

I hope we get internet access atleast few times a month, so we can get connected to the rest of the world.  With exactly one month to go before our staging event in Philadelphia, I look around our apartment and wonder how we’re going to pack up everything before we leave. I hope I keep in touch with friends and family. I  feel this blog would be a good way to find out what we’re up to in our new home, so save this page (dear friends & loved ones).

“The contents of this Web site are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.”

Leave a Reply

